Department of Chemistry



site header
Subscribe to RSS - News 2019

Congratulations to Dr. P. Andrew Evans for receiving the Salute to Excellence Award!

Photo: Dr. P. Andrew EvansCongratulations to Dr. P. Andrew Evans on receiving the Salute to Excellence Award at the recent ACS Meeting in San Diego from the Division of Organic Chemistry for the Graduate Research Symposium, which was initiated by Dr. Evans and Dr. Molander in 2010. The Salutes to Excellence is a recognition award that gives ACS local sections, technical divisions, regional meetings, and national committees an opportunity to underscore outstanding accomplishments, achievements or service for individuals who have made a positive impact on everyday life. This award recognizes the achievements and leadership  Dr. Evans has accomplished in his field of research. For more information on Salutes to Excellence award please visit the ACS website. 


Dr. P. Andrew Evans and Collaborators Uncover a New Method to Deliver Antibiotics

Photo: Dr. Amanda BongersProfessor P. Andrew Evans in collaboration with Dr. Grahame Mackenzie at the University of Hull and Professor Rebecca Goss at St Andrews recently reported an innovative way for the isolation and photoprotection of the potent light-sensitive antibiotic, marinomycin A.  This natural product is a member of a new family of macrodiolides, which are potent inhibitors of methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) and vancomycin-resistant Enterococcus faecium (VREF).  In work reported in the Royal Society of Chemistry flagship journal Chemical Science, they demonstrated that encapsulating the agent in sporopollenin exine capsules, derived from Lycopodium clavatum, renders the agent almost indefinitely stable (>7 hrs).  This work has attracted significant media attention and was recently highlighted in the Times (UK) and the Queen's Gazette.

Photo Photoprotection by Orally Bioavailable SpEC








Introducing Dr. Graeme Howe to the Department of Chemistry

Photo: Dr. Graeme HoweEnzymes are remarkable catalysts that can accelerate reactions by as much as 1026-fold over the corresponding spontaneous processes. Despite intense scrutiny, the origins of this catalysis remain unclear. Dr. Graeme Howe’s research is focused on the use of physical organic chemistry to understand how enzymes achieve these accelerations. By studying enzymes along their evolutionary trajectories, the Howe group aims to understand both how modern enzymes function and the mechanisms by which evolution produces these modern catalysts.


Introducing Dr. Amanda Bongers to the Department of Chemistry

Photo: Dr. Amanda BongersAssistant Prof. Amanda Bongers’ research in Chemistry Education will help us transform our delivery of postgraduate chemistry knowledge and contribute to the growing body of work at the interface of education research and the nature sciences. Her group combines tools from educational research, cognitive science, and neuroscience to study learning, especially in the context of chemistry education. For these projects we use methods such as eye-tracking, electroencephalography (EEG), and in-depth interviews with qualitative analysis. Chemistry has a central role to play in solving global challenges, and we are exploring how sustainability is incorporated into organic chemistry education for the next generation of scientists. We’re also studying how the curriculum and assessments influence students’ self-concept as scientists, attitudes towards chemistry, and academic achievement.


Congratulations to the Beauchemin group on their recent achievements!

Photo: Alastair Kierulf & Diane BeaucheminCongratulations to the Beauchemin group on their recent achievements! Alastair Kierulf, PhD Candidate, received the Burgener Research Graduate Student Travel Award at the 63rd International Conference on Analytical Sciences and Spectroscopy. Calvin Palmer, MSc Candidate, received the prize for the second-best poster at the same International Conference held June 26-28 in Montreal, Quebec. During Spectr’Atom 2019, a conference entirely in French that was held in Montreal June 25-28, Margaret MacConnachie and Andrew Williams, both MSc Candidates, respectively received the best and second-best poster prizes.


Congratulations to Dr. Kevin Stamplecoskie on receiving the 2019 ThermoFisher Scientific Spectroscopy Award

Photo: Dr. Kevin Stamplecoskie receiving the Thermo Fisher Spectroscopy AwardDuring the 63rd International Conference on Analytical Sciences and Spectroscopy, held June 26-28 in Montreal,Quebec, Dr. Kevin Stamplecoskie received the 2019 ThermoFisher Scientific Spectroscopy Award! This award is given to a Canadian spectroscopist in recognition of a significant contribution to the application of spectroscopy to analytical chemistry or to other technological problems relevant to industry, medicine, or the environment.


Morgan Lehtinen, Winner of Young Person's Lecture Competition Speaks on the CFRC

Photo: Morgan LehtinenBe sure to listen to the CFRC's podcast with Morgan Lehtinen, PhD student in the Liu Group; Morgan talks about her experience winning the Young Person's Lecture Competition on May 30th. The Competition was hosted by the Arthur B. McDonald Canadian Astroparticle Physics Research Institute and it was the first time it was hosted in Canada. Morgan will be travelling to the Young Persons'  World Lecture Competition in London, England this fall. Morgan is passionate about her research and she talks more in-depth of this in the Queen's Gazette article.


Dr. P. Andrew Evans was a Selected Speaker at the 2019 National Organic Symposium

Photo: Dr. P. Andrew EvansDr. P. Andrew Evans was selected to speak at the 2019 National Organic Symposium in Bloomington, Indiana. This is the ACS-Division of Organic Chemistry flagship meeting which happens every two years and those who speak are selected based on work accomplished in the last 2 years that is deemed highly innovative.