#### J.K.N. JONES

John Kenyon Netherton Jones obtained his Ph.D. at Birmingham University. He was hired as an assistant lecturer and then lecturer at Bristol University 1936-1944, where he engaged in munitions research and training during the Second World War. He resigned at the end of the war with the rank of captain, and returned to academic work as senior lecturer at Manchester University 1945-1948 and then as reader in chemistry at Bristol University 1948-1953. He came to Queen's University in 1953 as Chown Research Professor of Chemistry, a position he held until his death in 1977.

Professor Jones' outstanding achievements in carbohydrate chemistry were recognized by his election as Fellow of the Royal Society of London in 1957 and of the Royal Society of Canada in 1959. The Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry of the American Chemical Society presented him with the Claude S. Hudson Award in 1969, and in 1975 he received the Anselme Payen Award from the Cellulose, Paper and Textile Division. In March 1975, he was awarded the third Sir Norman Haworth Memorial Medal of The Chemical Society (London).

Professor Jones was, at all times, an educator of the highest rank and an inspiration to a large number of graduate students. From these students he evoked, as a result of his enthusiasm, sincerity, and gentle character, tremendous respect and affection. All of his students, former research associates, colleagues, and friends will long remember this truly fine and outstanding gentleman.

The J.K.N. Jones Visitorship was established in memory of Professor Jones, and is funded by the income from the bequests made in his name by his friends, colleagues and former students.

### PREVIOUS Jones Lecturers

2023 • B. Kraatz

2022 • S. Cairns

2021 • D. C. Robinson

2021 • Vy. Dong

2020 • P. Ayers

2018 • T.F. Miller III

2017 • J. Bode

2016 • F. Winnik

2015 • M. Pinto

2015 • T. Swager

2014 • W. Yang

2013 • D. Milstein

2012 • J.F. Stoddard

2011 • J.A. Caruso

2010 • T. Marks

2010 • G. van Koten

2009 • P.B. Corkum

2008 • M. Gruebele

2005 • W. Klemperer

2001 • G. Ozin

1997 • M.S. Brookhart

1993 • B.O. Fraser-Reid



# Department of Chemistry Queen's University

is honoured to host the 2024 Jones Lecturer:

#### Livia Eberlin

Baylor College of Medicine



"Guiding Clinical Decisions with Molecular Information provided by Direct Mass Spectrometry Technologies"

Friday, October 25, 2024

11:30 a.m.

Chernoff Hall, Room 117

# PROFESSOR LIVIA EBERLIN



**Livia Eberlin**Professor of Surgery
Division of Surgical Oncology
Baylor College of Medicine

**Dr. Eberlin** received a bachelor's in chemistry from the State University of Campinas in Sao Paulo, Brazil, and a Ph.D. in analytical chemistry from Purdue University. She went on to complete a research fellowship in the Department of Chemistry at Stanford University in California. Prior to joining Baylor College of Medicine, Dr. Eberlin was an assistant professor in the Departments of Chemistry, Oncology and Diagnostic Medicine at The University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Eberlin and her research team are the recipients of many honors and awards for their scientific research, including a NIH/NCI K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award, a Forbes 30 under 30 listing in the Healthcare category, a Moore Inventor Fellowship, and a MacArthur Fellowship in 2018. Her research group is funded by grants from the NIH, CPRIT and other research foundations. Additionally, Dr. Eberlin has published more than 80 peer-reviewed research articles in top-rated journals such as PNAS, Science Translational Medicine, Nature Communications, Cancer Research, and Clinical Chemistry.

Dr. Eberlin's research program centers around the development and application of novel mass spectrometry technologies in health-related research, with a particular focus on disease detection and diagnosis to improve patient care and clinical outcomes.

## SELECTED Honours & Awards

- 2020 Eli Lilly Young Investigator Award in Analytical Chemistry
- 2020 IFCC Young Investigator Award
- 2019 Arthur F. Findeis Award, ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry
- 2019 American Associate for Clinical Chemistry Young Investigator Award
- 2019 Purdue Distinguished Alumni Award, Purdue University, IN
- 2018 Moore Inventor Fellow
- 2018 MacArthur Fellow
- 2018 Sloan Research Fellowship
- 2017 Named a "Science Super Hero" by Discovery Channel
- 2016 Marion Milligan Mason Award for Women in the Chemical Sciences
- 2015 K99/R00 Pathway to Independence Award NIH/NCI
- 2015 Named among "Forbes' 30 under 30" list in Science and Healthcare