J.K.N. JONES

John Kenyon Netherton Jones, Ph.D. Birmingham University. Assistant lecturer and then lecturer at Bristol University 1936-1944, he was engaged in munitions research and training during the Second World War. He resigned at the end of the war with the rank of captain, and returned to academic work as senior lecturer at Manchester University 1945-1948 and then as reader in chemistry at Bristol University 1948-1953. He came to Queen's in 1953 as Chown Research Professor of Chemistry, a position he held until his death in 1977.

Professor Jones' outstanding achievements in carbohydrate chemistry were recognized by his election as Fellow of the Royal Society of London in 1957 and of the Royal Society of Canada in 1959. The Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry of the American Chemical Society presented him with the Claude S. Hudson Award in 1969, and in 1975 he received the Anselme Payen Award from the Cellulose, Paper and Textile Division. In March 1975 he was awarded the third Sir Norman Haworth Memorial Medal of The Chemical Society (London).

Professor Jones was, at all times, an educator of the highest rank and an inspiration to a large number of graduate students, from whom he evoked, as a result of his enthusiasm, sincerity, and gentle character, tremendous respect and affection. All of his students, former research associates, colleagues, and friends will long remember this truly fine and outstanding gentleman.

The J.K.N. Jones Visitorship was established in memory of Professor Jones, and is funded by the income from the bequests made in his name by his friends, colleagues and former students. PREVIOUS JONES LECTURERS

2015 • M. Pinto 2015 • T. Swager 2014 • W. Yang 2013 • D. Milstein 2012 • J.F. Stoddard 2011 • J.A. Caruso 2010 • T. Marks 2010 • G. van Koten 2009 • P.B. Corkum 2008 • M. Gruebele 2005 • W. Klemperer 2001 • G. Ozin 1997 • M.S. Brookhart 1993 • B.O. Fraser-Reid 1990 • S. Hanessian

1982 • R. U. Lemieux



Department of Chemistry Queen's University

is honoured to host the 2016 Jones Lecturer:

Professor Françoise M. Winnik

Department of Chemistry Université de Montréal



"Polymers and Biology: a constructive partnership"

Friday, September 23, 2016 11:30 am

Room 117, Chernoff Hall

PROFESSOR FRANÇOISE M. WINNIK



Professor Françoise M. Winnik

Department of Chemistry Université de Montréal CP 6128 Succursale Centre Ville Montreal, Quebec Canada H3C 3J7

Françoise Winnik was born and educated in France where she earned a chemical engineering degree. She obtained her MSc and PhD in organic chemistry and photochemistry from the University of Toronto (Canada). After post-doctoral studies in medical genetics at the University of Toronto, she joined the Xerox Research Center of Canada where she worked as a Research Scientist for 12 years. In 1993, she joined McMaster University as an associate professor in the departments of chemistry and physics. Since 2000, she serves as professor in the department of chemistry and the faculty of pharmacy of the University of Montreal. She is the editor in chief of Langmuir, the ACS journal devoted to colloids and surface science. She is a Principal Investigator in the International Center For Materials Nanoarchitectonics (MANA) of the National Institute of Materials Science (NIMS) in Tsukuba, Japan and a Finnish Distinguished Professor in the University of Helsinki, Finland.

Dr. Winnik's expertise is in the chemistry of water soluble polymers and natural polymers, their selfassembly in water and their applications in nanomedicine and as delivery vehicles. She was among the first to report the properties of poly(N-isopropylacrylamide) "PNIPAM", the stereotype of intelligent polymers. Her group has pioneered the applications of microcalorimetry and fluorescence techniques to study aqueous polymer solutions. She has published 360 articles and holds 30 patents. Dr. Winnik's latest contributions are dedicated to issues concerning the materials/bio interface, such as the toxicity of nanoparticles and ways to prevent it, the development of polysaccharide-based nanocarriers for the delivery of drugs, and the study of cellular aggregates as models for live tissues and tumors. She is a dedicated advocate for international collaborations and exchanges.

SELECTED HONOURS & AWARDS

- 2006: Clara Benson award, Chemistry Institute of Canada
- 2009: Doolittle award, PMSE division, American Chemical Society.
- 2010: Fellowship (long-term) Japanese
 Society for the Promotion of Science
- 2011: Macromolecular Science and Engineering award, Canadian Institute of Chemistry.
- 2013: Society of Polymer Science, Japan (JSPS) international Award.
- 2013: Elected Member of the Finnish Academy of Science.
- 2015: Association Francophone pour le savoir (ACFAS), Prize Urgel Archambault
- 2016: Elected Member of the Academy of Science of the Royal Society of Canada