Current Group Members

 
Spring 2013 Group Photo - Members (left to right):
Kaiyong Yang, John Cullen, McGregor Clayton, Jack Barnes, Stephen Walker, John Saunders, Jeff Crouse, Nicholas Andrews, Hans-Peter Loock, Hanna Omrani, Meghan Beattie, Jason Chen
 

Click here to view a map of where our researchers started out and where they have gone.

   
 

 

Ms. Meghan Beattie
Summer Research Student

Research project: Velocity Map Imaging

   
 


top

   

Mr. McGregor Clayton
Summer Research Student

Research project: Chemical Sensing with Polymer Thin-Films


top

Mr. John Cullen
Summer Research Student

Research project: Cavity Ring-Down Spectroscopy and Fluorescence Experiments


top

Mr. Nicholas Andrews
Ph.D. Student

Research project: Excitation-Emission Spectroscopy, Fiber Loop Cavity Ring-Down

e-mail: nicholas.andrews@chem.queensu.ca


top

Mr. Jeff Crouse
Ph.D. Student

Research project: Velocity Map Imaging - Experiments and Simulations

e-mail: jeff.crouse@chem.queensu.ca


top

 

 

Ms. Amy MacLean
M.Sc. Student

Research project: Surface Plasmon Resonance and Photoacoustic Spectroscopy

e-mail: amy.maclean@chem.queensu.ca

 


top

 

Ms. Hanna Omrani
Ph.D. Student


Research project: Absorption and Fluorescence Spectrochemical Analysis of Lubricants

e-mail: hanna.omrani@chem.queensu.ca


top

Mr. John Saunders
Ph.D. Student

Research project: Cavity Ring-Down in Micro-optical Devices

e-mail: john.saunders@chem.queensu.ca


top

Mr. Stephen Walker
Ph.D. Student

Research project: Velocity Map Imaging: Inorganics Trapped in Methanol and Water Ice

e-mail: stephen.walker@chem.queensu.ca


top

 

 

Dr. Jack Barnes
Senior Research Associate

Research project: Microresonators and Long Period Gratings

e-mail: jbarnes@chem.queensu.ca

 


top


Past Group Members

   

Mr. Jason Weijian Chen
Currently: Shanghai, China

e-mail: foshancwj@gmail.com


top

Dr. Klaus Bescherer
Currently: Lead Engineer for Analytical Chemical Sensors
Paperwhite Inc., Kingston, ON, Canada

e-mail: klaus.bescherer@gmx.de


top

Dr. Helen Wächter
Currently: Researcher
Tiger Optics, Warrington, PA, USA

e-mail: helen.waechter@gmx.net


top

 

Ms. Piyumie Wickramasinghe
Currently: PhD Student
University of Southern California, Los Angeles

e-mail: piyumiew@chem.usc.edu


top

 

Ms. Jessica Litman
Currently: PhD Student
ETH Zurich

e-mail: jessica.litman@phys.chem.ethz.ch


top

Dr. Wei Guo
Currently: Associate Professor
University of South China

e-mail: vella99@163.com


top

Dr. Qingxin Yang
Currently: Postdoctoral Associate
University of Minnesota

e-mail: qyang@chem.umn.edu


top

Dr. W. Scott Hopkins
Currently: Assistant Professor
University of Waterloo

e-mail: Scott.Hopkins@uwaterloo.ca


top

 

 

Dr. Constantin Romanescu
Currently: Postdoctoral Research Associate
Brown University

e-mail: constantin_romanescu@brown.edu

 


top

     

Mr. Nick Trefiak
Currently: Ph.D. Student
University of Ottawa

e-mail: ntref084@uottawa.ca

 


top

 

   

Mr. Jun Zhang
Currently: Analytical Chemist
Enviromental Sciences Group, Kingston

e-mail: N/A

 


top

     

Dr. Sergei Manzhos
Currently: Visiting Professor
University Tokyo

e-mail: Sergei.Manzhos@gmail.com
Website: https://docs.google.com/Doc?id=dfrcgszb_0g3bkhxdb

 


top

 
 

   

Dr. Zhaoguo Tong
Currently: Assistant Professor
Acadia University

e-mail: Anthony.Tong@acadiau.ca
Website: http://www.acadiau.ca/~atong/

 


top


Group Pictures

   

Collaborators

External Collaborators:
Dr. Dan-Xia Xu (National Research Council, Ottawa, Canada)
Dr. Yves Alain Peter (Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal, Montreal, Canada)
Dr. Gianluca Gagliardi (Istituto Nazionale di Ottica Applicata, Naples, Italy)
Dr. Lawrence Chen (McGill University, Montreal, Canada)
Dr. Xijia Gu (Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada)
Dr. Peter Wentzell (Dalhousie University, Halifax, Canada)

Queen's Collaborators:
Dr. Stephen Brown (Chemistry)
Dr. Cathleen Crudden (Chemistry)
Dr. James Fraser (Physics)
Dr. Robert Lemieux (Chemistry)
Dr. Richard D. Oleschuk (Chemistry)
Dr. Scott Yam (Electrical Engineering)

top